The Oral Cigarettes: A Japanese Alternative Rock Band

The Oral Cigarettes

‍Photo by uwekern on Pixabay

The Oral Cigarettes

The Oral Cigarettes (ジ・オーラル・シガレッツ), an alternative rock band from Nara Prefecture, Japan, has been making waves in the music industry since their formation in 2010. Known for their unique sound and captivating performances, the band has gained a dedicated fan base both in Japan and internationally. In this article, we will delve into the history of The Oral Cigarettes, explore their discography, and highlight their achievements and contributions to the music scene.

Formation and Early Releases

The Oral Cigarettes was formed in Nara, Japan in 2010. The band’s original lineup consisted of Takuya Yamanaka (lead vocals, guitar), Akira Akirakani (bass, vocals), Shigenobu Suzuki (guitar), and Take (drums). In October 2010, they released their first demo album titled “Nōsatsu A-Type.” This independent release showcased their potential and laid the foundation for their future success.

Following their demo album, The Oral Cigarettes released their first independent album, “Tsuki ni Hoete, Aware…,” in March 2011. This was followed by their second independent album, “Shingetsu to Ohitsujiza,” in February 2012. The band’s growing popularity and unique sound caught the attention of A-Sketch, a major record label, leading to their signing in 2012.

Major Label Debut and Rise to Prominence

In December 2012, The Oral Cigarettes released their first independent single, “Kieta Mitai / N.I.R.A,” marking their first step into the mainstream music industry. The band’s first EP, “Orange no Nukegara, Watashi ga Ikita Ai no Akashi,” was released in August 2013 in collaboration with Mash A&R. This EP showcased their versatility and ability to experiment with different genres.

The group’s breakthrough came with the release of their first major label single, “Kishi Kaisei Story,” in July 2014 under A-Sketch. This single gained significant attention and paved the way for their first major label album, “The BKW Show!!,” which was released in November 2014. The album received critical acclaim and solidified The Oral Cigarettes’ position as one of Japan’s most promising alternative rock bands.

Building on their success, The Oral Cigarettes released their second album, “Fixion,” in January 2016. This album further showcased their growth as musicians and their ability to create captivating and emotionally charged music. The band continued to release successful singles, including “Amy” in April 2015 and “Kyōran Hey Kids!!” in November 2015, the latter serving as the opening theme for the anime series Noragami Aragoto.

Evolution of Style and Continued Success

In August 2016, The Oral Cigarettes released their fourth single, “Dip-Bap,” followed by their fifth single, “5150,” in November 2016. These releases demonstrated the band’s evolution in sound and their willingness to push boundaries. Their third album, “Unofficial,” was released in February 2017, further solidifying their status as one of Japan’s most exciting alternative rock acts.

Continuing their momentum, The Oral Cigarettes released their sixth single, “Tonariau / One’s Again,” in June 2017. The song “Tonariau” served as the ending theme for the anime series Sagrada Reset, further expanding their reach and popularity among anime fans. This success was followed by the release of their seventh single, “Black Memory,” in September 2017, which showcased their ability to create powerful and emotionally charged rock anthems.

In June 2018, The Oral Cigarettes released their highly anticipated fourth album, “Kisses and Kills.” The album received widespread acclaim for its dynamic sound and introspective lyrics. The band’s growth and continued success were further recognized when they won the Best Conceptual Live award at the 2021 Space Shower Music Awards.


Here is a comprehensive overview of The Oral Cigarettes’ discography:

Studio Albums

  1. “The BKW Show!!” (2014)
  2. “Fixion” (2016)
  3. “Unofficial” (2017)
  4. “Kisses and Kills” (2018)
  5. “Suck My World” (2020)

Independent Albums

  1. “Tsuki ni Hoete, Aware…” (2011)
  2. “Shingetsu to Ohitsujiza” (2012)

Compilation Albums

  1. “Before It’s Too Late” (2019)

Demo Albums

  1. “Nōsatsu A-Type” (2010)

Extended Plays

  1. “Orange no Nukegara, Watashi ga Ikita Ai no Akashi” (2013)


  1. “Kieta Mitai / N.I.R.A” (2012)
  2. “Kishi Kaisei Story” (2014)
  3. “Amy” (2015)
  4. “Kyōran Hey Kids!!” (2015)
  5. “Dip-Bap” (2016)
  6. “5150” (2016)
  7. “Tonariau / One’s Again” (2017)
  8. “Black Memory” (2017)
  9. “Wagamama de Gomakasanaide” (2019)

Awards and Recognition

Throughout their career, The Oral Cigarettes have received recognition for their musical talent and contributions to the rock genre. Here are some notable awards and nominations:

  • CD Shop Awards: Regional Production (Kansai region) for “Orange no Nukegara, Watashi ga Ikita Ai no Akashi” (2014)
  • Space Shower Music Awards: Best Rock Artist (Nominated in 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2021)
  • Space Shower Music Awards: Best Conceptual Live (Won in 2021)


The Oral Cigarettes have established themselves as a force to be reckoned with in the alternative rock scene. With their unique sound and captivating performances, the band continues to push boundaries and create music that resonates with audiences worldwide. From their early independent releases to their major label success, The Oral Cigarettes have proven their versatility and ability to evolve as musicians. As they continue to grow and explore new musical avenues, it’s clear that The Oral Cigarettes will leave a lasting impact on the music industry for years to come.

Primary Keyword: The Oral Cigarettes

Secondary Keywords: Japanese alternative rock band, Nara Prefecture, unique sound, discography, achievements, contributions, history, major label debut, rise to prominence, evolution of style, continued success, studio albums, independent albums, compilation albums, demo albums, extended plays, singles, awards, recognition.

Tone of Voice: Engaging, informative, and enthusiastic.